top of page

Chef John Varanese of Varanese


I interviewed the very talented Chef John Varanese of Varanese as my tenth interview. Chef John Varanese was born in Cleveland, Ohio in 1973 to a strong cultured Italian family. Chef Varanese grew up cooking as a kid and even worked in a professional kitchen washing dishes when he was 13. A few years after washing dishes, Chef Varanese went on to culinary school to train as a chef. Chef Varanese remembers his Grandma cooking Italian food growing up. Chef Varanese has now owned and been chef at Varanese for 10 years. He focused on staying true to Italian cuisine and culture, and really reflecting on Italian hospitality. Chef Varanese tells me he loves having new ingredients to play with and always enjoys preparing a customer favorite at Varanese: the Bourbon Barrel Smoked Pork, a recipe that I have included in my cookbook.

Photo from http://www.flipmyfood.com/star/john-varanese


bottom of page